London Borough of Enfield

London Borough of Enfield London Borough of Enfield logo

A to Z of services

Enfield Youth Parliament election night

Published Friday, 18 October 2013

The vote is in and the count is on. In the last ten days young people have been voting in their schools to elect a new Enfield Youth Parliament and tomorrow the count starts.

Ballot Boxes have been returned to the Civic Centre. Volunteers from across the council are preparing for the count which will be overseen by the council’s election manager, Peter Stanyon.

Returning Officer, Cllr Ayfer Orhan, Enfield Council’s Cabinet Member for Children & Young People, said, “In almost all respects this election follows procedures for national elections. It is a great way to introduce the traditions of democracy and to help young people form opinions and judgement.

“The 27 candidates standing for election prepared their manifestoes and their leaflets explaining what they stand for and what they hope to do if elected. Sixteen of them will serve two years in the parliament representing young people. Our Youth Parliament is an influential body and the council takes their views and issues very seriously.”

Students at 15 secondary schools, including four academies and two special schools will be returning 16 new members to their parliament now in its third successful year.

There are 27 candidates competing in the following constituencies:

Area 1 (Enfield Lock quadrant): Caitlin Ansah, Christopher Charalambous, Kwame Osei Owusu, Lydia Weigel, Michael Acheampong, Sephora Mazodila

Area 2 (Edmonton quadrant): Bekim Hyka, Eda Cazimoglu, Fatouma Ayen, Kweku Martin Peprah, Morgan Paige, Regina Manuel

Area 3 (Southgate quadrant): Andriana Sotiris, Joel Kandekore, Katerina Stoyanova, Kayeie Catwell, Lucy Torbe, Maya Caddle, Pemi Arowojolu

Area 4 (Chase quadrant): Faith Withane, Luke Cummings, Naomi Collins, Rachel Obeng, Reanna Francis, Sean Sinanan, Vanessa Amankwah, Yousif Alawoad

More information

More articles in the news archive.