London Borough of Enfield

London Borough of Enfield London Borough of Enfield logo

A to Z of services

Cabinet reflects Enfield’s community

Published Thursday, 27 May 2010

At last night’s Council AGM, nine councillors were elected to serve alongside Council Leader Doug Taylor in Enfield’s new cabinet.

Civic Centre

Cllr Taylor, said, "It is a matter of great pride that we have a cabinet that represents Enfield's diverse community with over 50% coming from the borough's black and ethnic minority communities.

"We will listen to people and make decisions based on fairness, growth and sustainability. We have promised to make Enfield a better place for everyone who lives, works or studies in the borough and we will be looking at policies that will improve life for older people, children and families, help businesses and improve the environment.

"We want to engage with all people who live in the borough and act on their views."

Deputy Leader, Cllr Achilleas Georgiou, added, "People will be encouraged to play an active part in decision making to improve their part of the borough.  We are committed to being an open and transparent Council that is outward focused and fully accountable."

The new council administration will serve for the next four years from May 2010 to May 2014.

Cabinet members:

Deputy Leader, Public & Service Delivery:
Cllr Achilleas Georgiou

Environment, Street Scene & Parks:
Cllr Chris Bond

Finance & Facilities:
Cllr Andrew Stafford

Community Cohesion & Capacity Building for Third Sector:
Cllr Chaudhury Anwar MBE

Education & Children's Services:
Cllr Ayfer Orhan

Young People, Culture, Leisure & Olympics:
Cllr Bambos Charalambous

Older People & Adult Social Care:
Cllr Don McGowan

Cllr Del Goddard

Housing and Area Improvements:
Cllr Ahmet Oykener

More articles in the news archive.